Festival 2023 Results

Dear composers,

We would like to extend our sincere gratitude for submitting your outstanding works to the mise-en music festival 2023. It was a great pleasure to have the opportunity to listen to all of your pieces, and we appreciate your patience during our judging process.

This year, we received a record-breaking number of 1681 submissions from composers all over the world. After much deliberation and careful consideration, we have selected a number of pieces that we believe best represent the festival’s vision and artistic direction. However, it is important to note that our resources are limited, and unfortunately, we were unable to include every exceptional work that we received. We recognize the hard work and dedication that you put into your compositions, and we are truly sorry for any disappointment this may cause.

Please be assured that the selection process was based solely on the quality of the music submitted. We did not have any preconceived agendas or biases towards any specific ethnicity, gender, religion, sexuality, or nationality.

We congratulate the following composers whose works have been chosen for the festival:

Claire Hu: “how not to be delicious” (2022)
Terri Hron (Canada): “Etudes for Former Lives” (2022)
Ian Whillock (USA): “directionality” (2022)
MASSIMO VITO AVANTAGGIATO (Italy): “A Nazaire” (2020)
Rob Hamilton (USA): “Elegy (Ready, Set, Rapture)” (2019)
Annie Ruefenacht aka Annie Aries (Switzerland): “It’s not quiet in the void” (2023)
Han geul Lee (South Korea): “Portal No. 3 ʻOasisʼ”
Judith Lang Zaimont (USA): “ASTRAL” (2017)
Sepehr Pirasteh (Iran): “Narrative” (2021)
Rafael Borges Amaral (Brazil): “Salvador” (2015)
Itzá García (Mexico): “Descargas I” (2022)
Dinah Bianchi (USA): “Harmony 58” (2021)
Dylan Findley (USA): “i2i” (2021)
Fredrik Gran (Sweden): “autokinetic nests” (2012)
Bryndan Moondy (USA): “Glint” (2022)
Yang Liu (China): “Yun” (2013)
Maja Cerar (Switzerland/Slovenia): “Arcade Mirages” (2022)
Hans Lennart Jonsäll: “1Hans Lennart, Sonic Mechanics” (2023)
Jeff Nichols (USA): “Capriccio”
Olga Rayeva: “A short love text message read in the rain” (2020)
Patrick MARCLAND: “Theoreme” (2022)
Ana Gnjatović (Serbia): “Forest Migrations” (2022)
Giulio Colangelo (Italy): “Forbidden Soundscape [Narcissus’ Nausea]” (2016)
Marina Khorkova: “Similarly dominated” (2015)
Alberto Carretero (Spain): “PARALLEL LIVES” (2017)
Arvid Kraft (Sweden): “Poem” (2022)

We hope to see you at the festival in 2023, as well as at our season concerts. Please keep in touch with us, and don’t hesitate to share your future works with us. We also want to remind you that we will have a call for scores for the mise-en music festival 2024 in July 2023.

Thank you again for your participation, and we look forward to meeting you soon.

Best regards,
mise-en music festival team